The Early Years Foundation Stage explained.....

Every parent knows that their child’s experiences in their early years will help shape their future. In September 2008, the Government introduced the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS).  Settings are now inspected against the standards in the 'Statutory framework for the early years foundation stage - 3 April 2017'.  Ofsted conduct my inspections using the same 'Common Inspection Framework' used to inspect maintained schools and academies, non-association independent schools, further education and skills provision and all early years settings.

The EYFS has very clear guidelines ensuring that all children are safeguarded, so they are free to play and have fun with good quality play experiences that benefit a child’s developing social skills and their ability to learn. All settings have a responsibility to provide a safe environment where children can grow and learn, and one which promotes the welfare of the child. A safe environment is one with, effective procedures to deal with preventing the spread of infection, or dealing in an appropriate way to illness in the setting; and one with a clear risk assessment and clean safe age appropriate toys. A safe environment that promotes their welfare is one where a child’s behaviour is effectively managed in a way appropriate to their own individual needs and stage of development. A safe environment is making sure the child’s emotional needs are met, with a chance to make a warm, close, affectionate relationship with an adult; where every child and their family regardless of their background and culture are equally respected and valued; one in which they learn to make friends and begin to learn and understand about the world around them, and one in which their physical, spiritual, social, linguistic and cognitive needs are met.

There are seven areas of development within the EYFS:

The three prime areas are:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

  • Physical Development

  • Communication and Language

The four specific areas of development are:

  • Literacy

  • Mathematics

  • Understanding the World

  • Expressive Arts and Design

© 2018 by Little Bees Childminding.

Proudly created with Wix.com

This site was designed with the
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now